< Help center home

 

Signing into IFTTT with Google or Facebook

What does “Continue with Google” or “Continue with Facebook” mean?

  • You can create an IFTTT account or log into an existing one using your Google or Facebook account. This doesn’t give IFTTT permission to post on those accounts.

Where can I use social sign-in on IFTTT?

  • Web, iOS, and Android all support creating or signing into an account using Facebook or Google.

  • If you connect to IFTTT from within one of our partner’s mobile apps, you won’t be able to use social sign-in. Use your IFTTT email and password to sign in.

I already have an IFTTT account. How do I use social sign on?

  • If you’re logged into your IFTTT account, you can link Facebook or Google in account settings.

  • If you’re not logged in and and your Facebook or Google account email matches your IFTTT account email, you’ll get a prompt asking you to link your account by entering your IFTTT account password.

How does social sign-on affect the Facebook and Google services on IFTTT?

  • If you use social sign-in with Facebook or Google and want to use one of those services on IFTTT, you’ll still need to connect your account on the service page.

How does two-factor authentication work with social sign-in?

  • If you have it set up, you’ll be prompted to enter your two-factor code when you sign-in with Google or Facebook.

If I use Google or Facebook to sign up for a new IFTTT account, do I have a password?

  • You do, but it’s randomly generated. You can update at any time by resetting your password.

  • You don’t have to know your password, though — you’ll be able to use your Facebook or Google account to sign in to IFTTT as long as they remain linked.

 

How do I reset my password?

Enter your email address and we'll send you a link to reset your password

 

How do I turn on two-step verification on my account?

Two-step verification adds an extra level of security to your account by requiring both your password and a verification code to sign in.

  • Sign in to your account preferences.
  • Under two-step verification, click Enable two-step verification.
  • Enter your password.
  • Choose your two-step verification method — authentication or text message. Users outside the U.S should consider using an authentication app because some international carriers are not supported.
  • After choosing your method you’ll be required to verify your phone number. 

Two-step verification will be enabled after you enter your verification code.

For international numbers, include the leading “00” and country code when setting up two-step verification.

Keep your backup code in a safe place! If you lose access to your phone, this backup code will be necessary to access your IFTTT account. For account security reasons, we will be unable to retrieve your backup codes for you.

Add an authentication app as a backup. In the event that you lose or switch phones, or misplace your backup codes, an authenticator app will give you the option to recover your verification codes via a verified backup phone number.

 

How do I turn off two-step verification? 

  • Sign into your IFTTT account preferences.
  • Under two-step verification, click Disable two-step verification.
  • Enter your password. 

 

I lost my backup codes. Can you reset them or issue new ones?

For account security reasons, we will not be able to retrieve your backup codes or reset them. As an alternate solution, we can deactivate your account, allowing you to create a new account with the same username and email address. Please note that this will delete all current Applets and service connections. This cannot be reversed. Contact us if you're interested in this option and we'll update your account. 

 

I’m not receiving my two-step verification SMS

Due to limitations with non-US SMS carriers, two-step verification is not supported for some international users. For account security reasons, we will not be able to retrieve or reset verification codes. 

 As an alternate solution, we can deactivate your account, allowing you to create a new account with the same user name and email address. Please note that this will delete all current Applets and service connections. This cannot be reversed. Contact us if you're interested in this option and we'll update your account.